The municipalities of the Central Perkiomen Valley; Collegeville Borough, Lower Frederick Township, Perkiomen Township, Schwenksville Borough, Trappe Borough, and Upper Frederick Township, created the Central Perkiomen Valley Regional Planning Commission in July of 2001 to prepare a regional comprehensive plan that would serve as a guide for future growth and development. The region’s first comprehensive plan was adopted in June of 2005. In 2013, the region adopted a fully updated comprehensive plan in consideration of newly available census information and evolving municipal land use policies. Representatives of the six member municipalities meet monthly to discuss planning issues and developments of regional significance.


You’re Invited: Effective Local Sign Control Workshop

On Thursday, April 24th, the Montgomery County Planning Commission will unveil a brand new, comprehensive model sign ordinance. The model sign ordinance includes standards for the size, placement, and illumination of on-premises, off-premises, and temporary signs. Specific standards are provided based on zoning district so as to protect the character of a community’s historic districts, … Continue reading

Planning Smarter Montco 2014 to Feature Collegeville Borough

The Montgomery County Planning Commission (MCPC) has announced a series of planning education and networking events in 2014. This “Planning Smarter” series includes courses in community planning, subdivision and land development review, and zoning; stormwater management project funding opportunities; effective local sign control; community walkability audit; and the 2014 Montgomery Awards ceremony. The community walkability … Continue reading